join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-08-17 - On Our Next Episode . . .

2009-06-12 - RetroReflectionReaction

2009-04-13 - The Me Decade

2009-03-03 - Super Powered Sounds #3

2009-03-02 - Super Powered Sounds #2

Click Here For Tasty Popsicles . . . or, you know, a Random Entry

WICKED AWESOME LINKS

QUOTES! V.1

QUOTES! V.2

QUOTES! V.3

QUOTES! V.4

The Once And Future Sachems

2005-07-13 - 4:20 p.m.

So yeah, the Dane Cook show was like the Act 2 in the 5 Act Show that was Jimbo's (14th?) Coming Home Party. It had just started to pick up some steam when we Andrea and I left to pick up Kate and Bisa to go off to Hampton.

So we got back to a party already in progress. It had only been a few weeks since the hi-jinx of Memorial Day Weekend and there were definitely some leery feelings between certain people. I was certainly someone who felt wary around a few people. But in this supposed era of kinder, gentler Stuff & Things, I have to turn the other Germanic cheek and keep things on the disabled list. We mustn't upset the freakishly horrible apple cart now shall we?

I should have pointed out at the beginning that Jimbo pulled into R'Ford with none other than Mikey Moreau. Coupled with Andrew being here visiting Peter and Titie before he left for NYC, it was truly "Former Sachems: The Next Generation".

I don't have any good pics from the party, though some me be on their way. So this may get updated. Jane showed up from Portland and while there were plenty of people who hadn't seen her in ages, the surprise was on her as she didn't know Amy was around and was more shocked than I could possibly describe in words. I know that at one point, in an attempt to have an "American Idol"-style comedy face off, Peter and Andrew were going back and forth in the living room taking turns on who could do the best Grandma Farmer. It was close, but I think even Peter would agree that as in most cases, the blue ribbon had to go to Andy.

I was a different type of social at this party than I was at the Memorial Day Weekend Party. There was only about 3 weeks seperating the two events, but I felt like I leaped a hundred different quantums in that time. I'm still not sure that June 2005 officially existed on the calender this year. Things were just too backwards and elliptical and ash-tinged and flash-panned to have REALLY have happened. And Jimbo's party, being the heart of June, was probably one of the hearts of the craziness. It seems that lines that were once thought to intersect finally either intersected or shot off into the blank geometrical graph paper for parts unknown by the time the party rolled around. You look back and you can see certain beats that were hit that with the benfit of hindsight you can see how it was all crumbling/cementing. But it's harder to see that at the time. [For the record, only parts of this paragraph were about me, so don't look too closely . . .]

It was a lot of fun. I suppose. If not a bit melancholy at times. It was defintely a point in time. That will stay seared in my mind. Much like when baseball writers looked back and saw Jeter diving into the stands while Nomar sat on the bench. A defining moment that didn't really become so defining until events months later sharpened them. Yeah - I can chew on that. [Also, confidential to P & T: Know that seconds after I wrote that last paragraph, is when I called you and uttered the words, "Save me" twice. Yeah, good timing huh?]

Anyway, sorry this wasn't about all the drunken shenanigans and family flip cup and hot dogs and hamburgers. Sometimes I remember this is my site.

0 comments so far

<-- Back to the Salt Mines! - Onward, to the Bee-Mobile! -->

� 2002 - 2009 ZQF8

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!