join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-08-17 - On Our Next Episode . . .

2009-06-12 - RetroReflectionReaction

2009-04-13 - The Me Decade

2009-03-03 - Super Powered Sounds #3

2009-03-02 - Super Powered Sounds #2

Click Here For Tasty Popsicles . . . or, you know, a Random Entry

WICKED AWESOME LINKS

QUOTES! V.1

QUOTES! V.2

QUOTES! V.3

QUOTES! V.4

A California Sense Of Space And Time

2005-07-04 - 11:48 p.m.

Which apparently, to Amy, "later that week" meant the very next day. I was on my way home from the Diamond Mines that Tuesday, and I recall it was a particularly grueling day of no doubt some sort of hi-jinx involving Senor MuffCakes himself. I stopped at Market Basket and decided to purchase some macaroni salad that I had been lusting for all day. Aly called whilst I was in the beer aisle and asked if I wanted to do some sort of BBBQ kind of thing at my house that night. I said sure. I have no idea why this entire bit is so clearly crystalized in my brain, but it is. So fuck off. I went home. Aly and Alex came over and while Aly had her own food, I think Alex and I (and Peter and Titie) were still eating off of all the meat that was left over from Memorial Day. Actually, I think I'm STILL eating that meat.

Anyway, God knows where Ben was. Is that really important? He hasn't actually slept here (the driveway doesn't count) since early April. But anyway, I'm getting sidetracked like a drunken dragonfly. So we're all cooling out like pie eyes - oooh, actually that's good foreshadowing, go me! - when Amy calls and says she's in the area and do I want to get something to eat. Ok, apparently space and time are wholly different concepts out in Cali than they are here. I'm almost positive as Jimbo's forever calling me and wanting to talk about "54/40 or Fight!" So I tell Amy that we're eating at my place and I can meet her and she can follow me here. And I meet her at of all focal points, the infamous Smileys. She follows me back and her, me, Alex, Aly, Peter and Titie hang out and eat and watch the Sox game and eat some more. There was some business with Alex and these girls in their car driving by . . . and damn, I was THERE and I still can't really make head nor tails of the whole bananza.

But anyway - save a quick visit into the Wallakers back in the fall and some e-mail/letter writing back and forth ever since, this was the first significant amount of time I was able to hang out with Amy since, oh, I don't know, June of '92. So yeah, it'd been a while. But you would have thought 13 years always come between friends. I'm sure I was trying harder to be funnier than usual. Ok, I know I was. But still. Who cares about impressing stupid Aly, Alex, Peter and Titie? I see them all the time. The point is, it went great. I gave Amy the first four volumes of Y to read as homework and made vague plans that we should get together again soon, especially with the "Jimbo Party" on the horizon and perhaps we could bamboozle Jane into coming down and be surprised by Amy?! We would work on this later . . .

0 comments so far

<-- Back to the Salt Mines! - Onward, to the Bee-Mobile! -->

� 2002 - 2009 ZQF8

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!